This semester has gone by so fast. I can’t believe we have only three more classes left. This class has been very interesting and I have learned some exciting new things. The most important thing I learned this semester is the power of the blogosphere. It seems like an entirely different world that I had absolutely no knowledge about until I enrolled in this class.

Blogging takes dedication. It is definitely feeding a passion. I agree with the argument that has been made by Robert Scoble and Shel Israel in their book Naked Conversations, as well as others, that when an individual makes the decision to blog, he/she should write about what they know and care about. A person’s passion shows through their writing. I can personally attest to this because I have noticed that my postings are much better when I am writing about a subject that I have experience and interest in.

I learned really fast how open the blogosphere can be when I received my first comment from Buzz Bruggeman who I mentioned in one of my first postings about We the Media. It was exciting to see that Nicco (my professor) is not the only person, other than me, reading my blog. I was also suprised to see that Shel Israel posted a comment in response to my posting about the Cluetrain Manifesto. It shows that he practices what he preaches.

Another important topic we covered this semester is the emergence of OpenSource software. Although the Cathedral and the Bazaar was one of the readings I enjoyed the least, I think the principles that he mentioned were essential to understanding the thought behind this sort of software. For example, Eric Raymond argued that it’s important to treat users as co-developers because “given enough eyeballs, all bugs become shallow.” I think that this can be applied to any business situation, which I believe is part of Scoble and Israel’s argument about the importance of businesses becoming transparent and holding conversations with their clientele. Consumers, if given the chance, can offer valuable information.

The emergence of OpenSource and Web 2.0 applications prove that technology is always evolving. This is a good thing for those who embrace this evolution because it can make our daily task’s easier and more exciting. I will be interested to see what happens with blogging in the next few years. Only time will tell if it is something that is here to stay and that will transform the way businesses interact with their customers or if it is just a bunch of hype. I believe the former will happen, but who knows?

